Events

  1. Events
  2. Alex Regan
Today

UCSB Reads Book Giveaway to Students

Paseo, UCSB Library UCSB Library, Santa Barbara, CA

Chancellor Henry T. Yang, Executive Vice Chancellor David Marshall, and University Librarian Kristin Antelman will hand out free copies of the UCSB Reads 2019 book to UCSB students while supplies last. The 2019 selection is the graphic novel The Best We Could Do by Thi Bui. Sponsored by Arts & Lectures, Carsey-Wolf Center, College of Creative Studies, College of Engineering, College of Letters & Science, English Department, Gevirtz Graduate School of Education, Graduate Division, Graduate Student ...

Exiled: Loss and Resilience Among Refugee and Forcibly Displaced Youth and Communities

Pacific View Room, UCSB Library

UCSB Library presents a talk by Maryam Kia-Keating, Associate Professor of Clinical Psychology, Gevirtz Graduate School of Education to be followed by a public reception. Mass migration and forced displacement of communities due to disruptions by violence, climate change, and economic and political instability, have heralded an era of global movement that has reached crisis levels. Approximately half of the world’s refugees are youth under the age of eighteen. The Convention on the Rights of ...

UCSB Reads: The Best We Could Do: Telling and Re-telling the Stories of Asian America

Library Instruction & Training 1312 UCSB Library, Santa Barbara, CA

A panel discussion with erin Khue Ninh, Sameer Pandya, Eleanor Ty, and Xiaojian Zhao Four panelists from UCSB Department of Asian American Studies will discuss the UCSB Reads 2019 book The Best We Could Do by Thi Bui and its themes from a variety of perspectives. A UCSB Reads 2019 event. Light refreshments will be served. Sponsored by Arts & Lectures, Carsey-Wolf Center, College of Creative Studies, College of Engineering, College of Letters & Science, English ...

Women and Comics: A UCSB Reads Event

1920 Buchanan UC Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA

In conjunction with UCSB Reads 2019 and its companion exhibition In Her Own Image, Professor Brian Donnelly is opening up his undergraduate English class to campus and the community for a discussion of comics by and about women. Please join us for a preview of the upcoming Library exhibition that will explore and celebrate female comic book creators and their works. The preview will be followed by a discussion about comics by women and about ...

UCSB Reads Author Talk: The Best We Could Do

Campbell Hall Building 538, University of California, Santa Barbara, Mesa Rd,, Santa Barbara, CA

UCSB Library is pleased to offer a free lecture and book-signing by Thi Bui, author of the UCSB Reads 2019 selection The Best We Could Do. The Best We Could Do is a memoir written in the form of a comic book, in the tradition of Art Spiegelman’s Maus and Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis. Thi Bui chronicles generations of her family history in Vietnam, including her birth during the final months of the Vietnam War and ...